Hickory – Tree, Leaves, Nut

English name: Hickory

Sub Title:  Tree, Leaves, Nut, & Facts

hickory, (genus Carya), genus of about 18 species of deciduous timber and nut-producing trees of the walnut family (Juglandaceae). About 15 species of hickory are native to North America and 3 to eastern Asia. Fossil remains identifiable as belonging to the genus are found in western North America, Greenland, Iceland, and Europe.

Physical description
hickory fruits
hickory fruits

Hickories typically grow about 30 metres (100 feet) tall and have a long taproot. The compound leaves are composed of 3 to 17 leaflets each; those of some species turn bright yellow in autumn. The male and female flowers, both of which lack petals, are borne in different clusters on the same tree, the male in hanging catkins and the female in terminal spikes of 2 to 10 flowers. The fruit is an egg-shaped drupe. The pit or kernel, which is not a true nut, is enclosed in a fleshy husk that splits into four woody valves as it matures.

Major species

Pecan (Carya illinoinensis), the most valuable species economically, is cultivated for its flavourful nuts and its light-coloured wood.

A number of other species also produce large sweet-tasting edible seeds; the principal edible “nuts” are those of the shagbark hickory (C. ovata), the shellbark hickory (C. laciniosa), and the mockernut hickory (C. tomentosa). The nuts of the bitternut hickory (C. cordiformis) and the water hickory (C. aquatica) are bitter-tasting and inedible, because the skin covering the kernels contains tannin. The nuts of most other species are edible but are too small to be commercially important.

The wood of various hickories is used as fuel and for tool handles, sports equipment, furniture, and flooring.

The beaked hickory (Annamocarya sinensis), native to China, was formerly placed in the genus Carya and is now the only species of the genus Annamocarya.